January 26, 2021 - TRA Newswire -

A number of Texans will populate the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure under Chairman Peter DeFazio (D-OR). The House T&I Committee is one of the largest bodies in Congress and covers a wide range of modes:

Coast Guard and Maritime Transportation
Economic Development, Public Buildings, and Emergency Management
Highways and Transit
Railroads, Pipelines, and Hazardous Materials
Water Resources and the Environment  

On theT&I Committee from Texas are Congressman Colin Allred (D), Dallas; Brian Babin (R), Port Arthur; Lizzie Fletcher (D), Houston; Eddie Bernice Johnson (D), Dallas; the newest member Freshman and former Irving Mayor Beth Van Duyne (R), Irving; and Randy Weber (R), Pearland.

A new face on the committee, Congresswoman Beth Van Duyne, said that "It's an honor to have been chosen to serve on the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee. As a former mayor engaged in numerous transportation projects and committees, I understand prioritizing infrastructure development and revamping our nation's transportation systems are critical to spurring economic growth and uplifting working families." Van Duyne went on to say "I look forward to leaning on my experience and my strong relationships across the region to champion the priorities of my district, which is home to Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport and miles of highways and rail lines."

On the House Subcommittee for Highways and Transit you'll find Allred, Babin and E.B. Johnson.

The U.S. House Committee for Railroads, Pipelines and Hazardous Materials has these Texas Representatives : Allred (Vice Chair), Babin, Fletcher and Weber.

On the Senate side neither of Texas' two Senators serve on the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.

The Texas Senate Committee on Transportation will look like this for a two year term:

Chairman Robert Nichols (R) Jacksonville
Vice Chair Kel Seliger (R) Amarillo


Carol Alvarado (D) Houston
Cesar Blanco (D) El Paso
Kelly Hancock (R) North Richland Hills
Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa (D) McAllen
Lois Kolkhorst (R) Brenham
Charles Perry (R) Lubbock
Royce West (D) Dallas

Speaker of the Texas House, Dade Phelan, is expected to announce committee members in the coming days.